Nike We Run SG 10K 2012

On 21st October 2012, I took part in my first Nike We Run SG 10K run! To be honest, the main reason why I took part was because I wanted the running tees that came along with signing up. The 2010 and 2011 tees were nice and I regretted missing out because it sold out very quickly.

This year’s tee wasn’t really what I was expecting though.. It’s black with neon yellow sleeves and collar lining.

And this is the finisher’s tee, which is slightly nicer!

Ok, I don’t really know why I posted these 2 pictures. If you have been out and about on the streets or in school, you would have noticed plenty of people proudly wearing their finisher tee already.

I completed the run with Jun Hui and his friend Eugene.

This 10km was probably the most crowded running event that I’ve attended so far. I thought the Army Half Marathon was really crowded, but this time round the crowd only dispersed around the 4km mark. Which meant that for the first 4km, we were squashed like sardines trying to maneuver our way forward, amidst the very intense body heat generated by the running pack.

The other comment I have to make was the insanely long queue for the bag collection at the end of the race. Luckily for me I didn’t bring any bag to the race, but my friends had to queue for more than an hour after the run just to retrieve the bags. This may partially be due to the start and ending point being at different locations, which makes the logistics VERY much harder to manage.

Anyway, I was actually quite pleased with my race timing of 1 hour and 5 minutes! It is definitely much faster than I expected, considering I have not trained for it at all and the massive crowd made it really difficult to run at a comfortable pace..

If anyone is interested, Nike SG’s facebook page also has an app that can track your race timings. (or to stalk your friends’ timings…)

https://www.facebook.com/NikeRunningSG/app_184404021694246

Whether or not I’ll join again next year, I’ve not decided yet. It very much depends on their tees actually. Hope they do another red one!

Leave a Reply

