Selecting an HDB flat

I guess most of my friends know by now that I have applied for an HDB flat, and last Sunday I made a big decision to chose my unit with Michelle =D

The estate where I am going to spend at least 5 years of my life at is in the Kallang/Whampoa area – released during the May 2012 BTO. *Some say THE BTO of 2012*

I won’t say which block we are at, but we managed to get a unit on the 22nd floor! This is even though our ballot queue number was 94X / 888 units available. Drop out rate at my point of selection was about 23%, so that certainly was in our favour. Therefore, when you get a ballot queue number that is more than the number of units available, don’t panic!! There is still a fair chance of getting a decent unit, provided the ethnic quota is not reached yet. (It’s normally the limiting factor for chinese applicants.)

I am also proud to say that McNair Towers is just a 3-5 minutes walk away from Boon Keng MRT on the North-East Line, and is probably 10-15 minutes away from Dhoby Ghaut MRT! Going to work in the CBD will be a breeze, and it is also convenient for friends to come over too when we have house parties..

The cost of the HDB is staggering though, at $570,000 it is probably one of the most expensive 4-room flats… I guess I can’t complain because the location is just too good that it outweighs a lot of other considerations.

I honestly can’t wait to move in in a few years time~

Leave a Reply

