Korea Trip 13 – 20 May, Day 2

Alas, I shall start blogging about my wonderful Korea Trip from 13 – 20 May 2011. It was a tour by Chan Brothers and there were a total of 16 of us and a Mandarin/Korean speaking tour guide.

I don’t know if you all know about this but one of my favorite things when sitting on an aeroplane is that I love eating on a plane. I know right. Weird eating fetishes.

Anyway, I had Chicken Set as they ran out of the bibimbap set.

Couple with beer because I gian to drink for very long already but still haven’t satisfy that craving yet.

My version of a Happy Meal

After a 5 and a half hours journey, we finally arrived at Incheon Airport, Seoul! It’s supposedly a close competitor of Changi Airport and it was certainly quite a nice place. Happy faces all ready to kick start the tour despite close to 2 or 3 hours of sleep on the plane.

Our first stop is to go to Nami Island, which is the place where they filmed the kissing scene in Winter Sonata. As someone who does not watch Korean dramas at all, I don’t know the significance of this place but apparently a lot of other people do because that place was super crowded! Patriotic me with the Singapore flag =D

The scenery there is beautiful. It’s like a gigantic island park that’s shaped like a crescent moon and it’s a perfect place for a picnic on a weekend.

We had our first Korean meal shortly afterwards, which means it’s the start of our diet that consists of kimchi with every single meal! Not that I’m complaining, because I kinda like kimchi.

The tour guide then gave us 2 hours for shopping at the Dongdaemun market and honestly, it was nowhere near enough to shop finish the huge malls there. We went to Migliore and Doota as they were the more fashionable ones according to our guide. I personally think Doota is pretty good but actually the clothes in Korea are pretty pricey. Almost everything here costs about S$30 so you’re really just looking for nice designs that can’t be found in Singapore instead of looking for cheap bargains.

After the mad rush to shop, we headed to Gyeongbokgung Palace which is some palace for some emperor some time in the earlier days. As you can tell, I’m really not a history person. Here’s a picture of the entrance/exit that is opposite the empress’s throne.

One learning point is that I can recognize that the buildings with no spine at the top of the building means it’s for the emperor. Notice the roof of the picture below is different from the one above? That is because the emperor is the spine of the building already and hence they do not need anymore spine to support the building. Or something along those lines.

Our dinner was at a Boat restaurant floating on the Han River that cuts across South Korea. It was a pretty place and we had our one and only bibimbap meal there.

We took some pictures along the river and here’s one with me and Michelle’s family.

They also have a fitness corner underneath the flyover, so I gymed ha de ha ha.

Our last activity for the day was a domestic flight to Jeju Island to spend the night there. We stayed at Ocean Suites Jeju Hotel and we bought baked potato fromage biscuits for supper. I tell you, it is one of the nicest biscuits I ever ate. If anyone sees it in Singapore do let me know!

owjorg.jpg

I also bought something that looks like milk because our tour guide said Jeju milk is very delicious. So I happily went into the convenience store and bought this, which I then realized is not milk but alcoholic something. It tastes so bad man.

iugpe.jpg

And with that, we called it a night for our very first day in Korea =)

3 thoughts on “Korea Trip 13 – 20 May, Day 2

  1. Hi! I just wanted to thank you for your informative posts and pics about Korea since I’ll be going on the same tour soon. And you’re not alone, airplane food is totally awesome.

    • Thanks so much for your comment!

      Hope you enjoy your holiday =)

      I sure did!

      Will be updating with more blog posts of my remaining days in Korea.

Leave a Reply

